Body Language

I think I have already read this one. But still read it to make sure. Finished it in my journey from kolkata to hyderabad yesterday.

Body Language

By Julius Fast

Rating: 2/5

Being an psychology enthusiast, books like these naturally attract me. After reading it I am not sure whether I read it or not. Though, I found the reason for that – the research & findings given in the book have aged for the present times. There are much better & more enlightening research on the cause & effects, meanings, perceptions of body language. And it is mostly western(American) based, so again disappointed that nothing on Indian psych is researched anywhere yet.

Julius Fast starts the book with giving the reader introduction to a new stream of science – Kinesics. It gives example of how the body language gets misinterpreted by people from different culture & profession. Then it moves to the boundary hypothesis of humans, like an animals’ territorial conceptions. The different areas or zones of introverts & extroverts are looked into. Three chapters deal with this space & its invasion. After that the Masks com in focus. The facial masks/expressions which people wear to hide, to confront, to comfort, to restrict e.t.c. Then the language of touch is explored – how a touch can show a persons’ character. Language of LOVE is the heading for the next chapter – well, I will say it was not even in its infancy stage.( There are lots of research available on that- mostly western, but I find they work in Indian context also many times).
The last few chapters deal with small pointers of Kinesics viz – positions,points,postures,winking,blinking and nods. I am sure you must be knowing almost all of it by now. They are just common sense observations & it is amateur ‘psychology’ enthusiasts first reads/observations. The last chapter deals with new language being developed to study Kinesics. And the various use & abuse of such studies becoming generalist.( They can never be – it has been sort of proved by the failure of teleological science in practical world.)

So my suggestion, you can pick it up if you really want to. But there are much better & fresh studies on the same matter.( And I am not pointing to the popular – Men from Mars & Women from Venus). There are lots of them available now – ‘best’ start with Dan Ariely books.

Arigato 🙂

P.S – I have read almost 15-17 books while I was away from blogging. What do you guys suggest – should I post there review also?

2 thoughts on “Body Language

  1. Maybe you could have written a couple of pointers mentioned in that book, to enable us to check if things are as mentioned! I don’t think I want to read such self-help books any longer – I used to read some of them before a few years. I have that Men are from Mars… book but I am not able to read beyond the first 70 pages!

    Destination Infinity

    1. If you have ever read any body language book or any class – its the same basic stuff here also. And i read it more on psychology perspective – this one didn’t even had any trickle for self-help advice.

Leave a Reply

