The Oath of the Vayuputras

This is the final part of Shiva trilogy. The reviews of earlier parts are :
The Immortals of Meluha

2 The Secret of The Nagas

3 The Oath of The Vayuputras

By Amish Tripathi

Rating: 3.5/5

I get anxious when some story is left in between & so happened with this Trilogy. I finally got to read it & now I am at peace with the story, unlike the Shivas’ heart. Not deviating far from my prediction of Good turning Evil the story was laid out wonderfully. I thought the good guy would come out to be evil but on the contrary it was the proxy good guy who became the evil core. Also against my expectations of going the Bollywood/Hollywood style happy endings , Amish went the right way – a heart broken Shiva with only memories of Sati.

(!!!spoiler alert!!!)

The story starts from where it left in the second edition – Shiva & his family reaching Panchvati & uncovering the truth behind Brahaspati, his beloved friend. Then the whole plot of Good turning to Evil is laid down to Shiva. Shiva starts for the city of Ujjain to meet the chief of Vasudev Clan. There he learns the truth about the Vayuputras & their Oath. The Somras – Drink of Gods is termed Evil & the planning for War with Meluha starts. The story moves forward with different strategies being played by Shiva & the other nations, for a final War at the Meluha. The main master-mind heading the Meluha against Shiva comes into scene –  a saptarishi. The devoted Parvateshvar being duty bound changes his side with honour after asking permission from Shiva. Then comes the various battles being played around the India to capture & destroy Devagiri. During one of such battle Sati gets injured & the plan gets in a stalemate. Shiva leaves for Pariha – abode of the Vayuputras. During his return back, an dastardly scheme of Daksha leds to unpredictable turns of events. And finally a heart-wrenching climax gets played out.

I didn’t wanted to put out any spoiler but whatever. I still can’t make my mind imagine those scenes having punk-type pop language. I revere these characters & the way Amish painted this fiction I really liked it. But some times the Shiva seems to be a teen unlike his two sons. Some people might have objections to the connections with Egypt & other unrelated mythological resemblance, though I take it as the creative ploy of the author. However, the title seems to do little justice to the book. The part of ‘Oath of Vayuputras’ is minusculine – except for one, none of them played much role in the story.

The best part I liked was the ‘Ending’ of the saga. Shiva was turning out to be happy, jolly & familial in character. But the death of Sati turned this living God to a morose dark reality of life. I expected all along that Sati will die – after all Shiva was most attached to her than anything or anyone else. She had to die for a Hero to emerge. Though, I never expected such climax – Sati dies but no hero is born rather a dark cold rock is metamorphosed from a loving heart-throbbing human.The vivid imagery Amish put forth – lets you feel the pain of Shiva. This part will stay with me from this Saga along with the brave character of battling Sati.

Other intricacies of plot were also appreciable. They all were well placed & thought of. The imagery of various places, kingdoms,palaces made me just want to pick up a drawing board & draw them. The path they were taking through the forests, rivers, sea routes places them not far from real geography of India. It would be a good Anime/Cartoon series or even a Video game. From the angle of fiction- it had all the ingredients you need in it for the young readers. Though, many disappointments for mythology lovers & Shiva reveres. Still, I would like it to be seen into some other form also – hope Bollywood never thinks of it – they will surely ruin it.

All in all – a good read. If you liked going through the earlier two saga – do read this part. It’s an apt climax though some loose ends are present.

Aarigato

5 thoughts on “The Oath of the Vayuputras

  1. It’s good to see some Indian writers writing good English Fiction. We need more English fiction writers like Amish, Ashwin Sanghi, etc. Also, we need lesser ‘love story’ writers.

    Destination Infinity

    1. Totally agree to that. When I go to book shops the only category of fiction by Indian Authors are ‘Love Stories’ – fed up with them.
      Can you recommend me some good works by Indian fiction authors. Thanks 🙂

  2. Hey thanks for stopping by my blog.

    Regarding this book. I liked the book but was little disappointed. Some twists made my brow rise. Disappointed with few chapters to bore me. I had to drag for few days. In the climax I was even more disappointed because the much talked trilogy came to an end.

    Good write up!

  3. Thanks for the sensible critique. Me & my neighbor were just preparing to do a little research on this. We got a grab a book from our area library but I think I learned more clear from this post. I am very glad to see such wonderful info being shared freely out there.

Leave a Reply

